Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve.-The establishment of the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve is 87 List "A" officers, 20 List "B" officers, 19 instructors, and 1,096 ratings, distributed as follows: Halifax, Saint John, Charlottetown, Quebec, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Hamilton, Port Arthur, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Regina, Edmonton, Calgary, Vancouver, Prince Rupert. An additional Division is in process of establishment.

Each Division is under the immediate command of an officer of the R.C.N.V.R., appointed as commanding officer. The commanding officer is assisted by other commissioned officers of the Force.

A petty officer instructor (a highly qualified ex-petty officer of the Royal Navy or of the Royal Canadian Navy) is employed at each Division to give instruction to men of the Division in gunnery, torpedo practice, seamanship, and other naval subjects.

Each List "A" officer and man of the R.C.N.V.R. performs annually a minimum of 30 drills, of a duration of not less than one hour each, at Division headquarters. In actual practice 40 to 50 drills have been performed annually by each member of the R.C.N.V.R. Officers and men also attend from two to three weeks naval training annually at the naval bases at Halifax or Esquimalt, or at sea in H.M.C. or H.M. ships.

Officers and men who can obtain the necessary leave of absence are permitted to perform a maximum of four months voluntary service during each period of enrolment, and a large number have availed themselves of this opportunity of gaining extended naval experience under sea-going conditions. The period of enrolment and of re-enrolment in the R.C.N.V.R. is three years.

Subsection 2.—Military Forces.

The Militia of Canada is constituted by the Militia Act. The Active Militia is divided into the Permanent and the Non-Permanent Militia.

Permanent Active Militia.—The Permanent Force consists of the following units:----

CAVALBY.—The Royal Canadian Dragoons; Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians). ARTILLERY.—The Royal Canadian Horse Artillery Brigade ("A", "B" and "C" Batteries); Royal Canadian Artillery (Nos. 1, 2 and 5 Heavy Batteries, No. 3 Medium Battery and No. 4 Anti-Aircraft Battery).

ENGINEERS.-Royal Canadian Engineers (13 detachments and 1 field company).

SIGNALS.-The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals.

INFANTRY.—The Royal Canadian Regiment; Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry; The Royal 22è Regiment (a French-Canadian regiment).

ABMY SERVICE CORPS.—The Royal Canadian Army Service Corps (12 detachments and 1 depot).

MEDICAL CORPS.-The Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps (12 detachments).

VETERINARY CORPS.—The Royal Canadian Army Veterinary Corps (5 detachments). ORD NANCE CORPS.—The Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps (12 detachments).

PAY CORPS.-The Royal Canadian Army Pay Corps (13 detachments).

MILITARY CLERKS.—The Corps of Military Staff Clerks (12 detachments).

The strength of the Permanent Active Militia is limited by the Amending Act of 1919 to 10,000, but at present the limited establishment is less than 4,300.

Schools of Instruction.-The Canadian Small Arms School is the only school which is an independent unit of the Permanent Force, but at all stations of the Permanent Force in Canada Royal Schools of Instruction are conducted.

46847---661